My Diary

I am going to start a diary (again). I am going to try to write it in normal English without making any effort to avoid difficult words. Then I will take each entry and remove all or most of the words that are not included in the most common 1000 words of the English language. I will also try to shorten the sentences in the second post.

In this way, I will produce a second entry which will be easier for beginner learners to follow. I then intend to record both of these entries as a podcast so that people can practise listening to them as well as reading them. These content items will then be integrated with The Linguist system so that learners can systematically learn the words and phrases and link them with the other learning activities of The Linguist.

Today is a slow day. I just returned from a two week trip to Sweden and I am still suffering from jet lag. I was up a few times during the night. Today is a magnificent day. The skies are blue as I look out over my little bay here. I should be on the golf course. Instead I am writing this diary.

I was in Sweden for business. We buy lumber in Sweden which we export to Japan. We also sell software systems in Sweden. We had a bit of a crisis and that is why I had to go there. More on that in the next post.

Leave a Reply

