Anxiety in language learning.

All learners experience some degree of anxiety when speaking a foreign language, at least until they are very comfortable in the language. Here is an article that reports on some research on the subject and tries to draw some conclusions. The writer’s conclusion is that the role of the teacher is key. I have a different conclusion. I experience anxiety in a language class. That is why I learn on my own, building up my confidence, word power and familiarity with the language. That way I avoid having to display my inadequate language skills in front of others, or listen to the inadequate performance of others. When I am ready I try my language out on people of my choosing, mostly native speakers.

Leave a Reply

