In praise of random repetition

I am not a user of Spaced Repetition Systems. I like Random Repetition, not repetition based on a time table set by a system, or by a teacher, for that matter.

I do, however, like to review flash cards. I do it occasionally especially now that I can do it on my iTouch. I feel it helps me to focus and it improves my attentiveness to the language. I certainly don’t do it every day. I do it when I feel like it. I read when I feel like it, and listen when I feel like it. I do what I like, when I like, but I do a lot of it. That gives me lots of random exposure to words and phrase. I like randomness because it increases my enjoyment and makes me spend more time with my language studies.

I did a video on the subject but I keep getting errors in publishing to youtube for some reason. I will try again and if it works I will post the video.

One thought on “In praise of random repetition

  1. Well, this definitely makes me feel better about myself and my lack of discipline when it comes to SRS. I did really well for a few months at reviewing my flashcards daily, but when things got busy, it didn’t take long for me to neglect my SRS reviews. This created a psychological block for me, as I believed that with each passing day I was not only accumulating a huge stack of cards to review, but I was also probably forgetting everything I had worked so hard to memorize. My memory just can’t be that good, right?I found, however, that although the review stack was indeed huge, I hadn’t forgotten all that much. I had been so conditioned by the notion, "If you don’t use it, you lose it," that I had almost no belief in my memory’s ability to hold those words for more than a few days. Recently, I’ve spent lest time in front of the computer and more time "in the wild" practicing what I’ve learned with real people. It’s a nice change from the "system" I was trying to force myself into before. And it’s working great.

Leave a Reply

