The cost of textbooks.

I recently met with some university students who are eager users of LingQ. They told me that for their language studies they spend about $100 per semester just on textbooks. No I know why.

I received a notice from Amazon about a textbook for learning Chinese, called A Kaleidoscope of China. It is written by no less than four authors. It is described as?? featuring a “a stimulating selection of articles and essays from major newspapers and periodicals in China”. The cost is $49.

I can read all the newspaper and magazine articles I want on the Internet. I can use online dictionaries. I can import these articles into LingQ and learn the words. Why would anyone spend $49 on this book, unless it is required by a university course?

Leave a Reply

