Random listening, Russian spies and Alberto Manguel

Although I have launched my Korean challenge, and hope to achieve some degree of fluency by December, I cannot get away from listening to Russian and Portuguese. The former because I find Russian fascinating, for the language and for the political subjects that are offered at Echo Moskvi every day. As for Portuguese,?? I am going to visit Portugal in October so I also want to work on my Portuguese. Today I was able to follow the Russian reaction to the new Russian spy case in the US, and learn more about events in Khyrgyzstan.

Then in Portuguese, I listened to an interview on the TSF podcast Pessoal e Transmissivel, with Alberto Manguel, Argentinian-Canadian writer. The interview was in Portuguese and Spanish, as if they were one language. I like reading, and I once bought a book by Manguel in praise of reading, but found it not to my taste, somewhat superficial and pretentious. It is a kind of elitist elogy of people who read, with a lot of name dropping.

Now back to Korean.

One thought on “Random listening, Russian spies and Alberto Manguel

  1. Great insights, Steve, thank you. It really helps to see where you going and what you are finding are really the essential ingredients for successful language learning study

Leave a Reply

