Am I the only one who does not like to do drills, and answer questions?

When I study languages I focus on content. I do from time to time read grammatical explanations but I do not worry about whether I fully understand them much less if I can remember them. I peruse tables of declensions or conjugations and the like, and do not worry about remembering them. Every attempt to put them to memory has proven futile, since they only seem to stay with me for a short while. I just gravitate to interesting content to listen to and read and work on building up my vocabulary.

But of course I do need to consult tables to check on word endings, especially when I write on our language Forums at LingQ. There are resources on the web for quickly looking up verb conjugations and nouns declensions. I have even downloaded some for my iPad. I also got a number of good suggestions about resources on conjugating verbs in response to an earlier post on this blog.

Here is a Russian language resource.

Wade through all the explanations, ignore the drills and tests.Go straight to the bottom.?? Check out the Russian Verb Conjugator by Sergei Starostin. It works for other parts of speech as well, like nouns and adjectives. The instructions are as follows.

Type in the infinitive of any Russian verb, press the button, and see all its forms in tables in a new window (KOI8 fonts). The analyzer works on all other parts of speech, too.

?????????????? ????????????:
Am I the only one who skips all the drills? It seems that many of the iPhone apps for language learning are games, quizzes or drills of some kind.?? I do not use them. Am I the only one who avoids them?

2 thoughts on “Am I the only one who does not like to do drills, and answer questions?

  1. If those making the drills (practicals) put decent thought their creation, then I do gain a great deal out of the process. Drills do not replace listening, reading, and writing; they are an accompaniment.

  2. Yes, I dn-loaded all the apps from the app store for iphone, ipod, n ipad that I was interested in; yet, like you, they are all useless because can’t get into the content with any of them and before I can put refinement on something I need the material first to work with. Like trying to mold clay unless we have the clay in our hand first can’t put any of the detail on it and so like language without the content to form the basis, to have at least a variety of words to say first what is the point of grammar and rules? In other languages, for instance, what is the use re: all the rules that is like instructing a gymnast to do a balance beam activity and yet that person can’t even do a summersault on the ground as yet or like training a fiery hot tempered Arabian Stallion until I get him to look at me on the ground when lunging him then what good does it do to get on his back where I am in more danger since he isn’t listening yet with the simple steps on the ground first? Or like giving a teenager an automobile to drive when they aren’t obedient with basic aspects of life first until one thing is established first before the other then putting a roof on a building without the foundation first established is a short term proposition.

Leave a Reply

