The place for word for word translations.

I have been looking at our beginner lessons in LingQ, especially Who is She, which I used for Russian. I was scratching my head as to what kind of explanations would help beginners. I tried to remember how I felt when I started. I came to the conclusion that a word for word translation was more useful than all explanations of structure. I remember that at first I only wanted to understand the text and get to the point where it made sense to me. Explanations were a distraction. Once I start reading that nouns and pronouns decline, and that different verbs and prepositions take different cases, and that there are exceptions etc. I pretty soon get tied up in knots and lost track of the story line. Maybe simple word for word translations are the best way to get started. Maybe a brief grammar review after the first 10 lessons or so is enough. What do you think?

Here is the word for word for episode #1 of Who is She.

????????????. ?????? ?? ???????? ?????????????? ?????? ?????????????

Hello. What I can do for you?

??

???????? ?????????? ????????????.

Me (they) call Natasha.

?????? ????????? ?????????????? ??????????????????????????.

How (are) things? Pleasant (to) meet.

?????????? ?????????????? ??????????????????????????.

Also pleasant (to) meet.

?????? ?????????? ???????? ???????????????

How (they) call your friend (girl)?

??

?????? ?????????????? ?????????? ??????????.

My friend (girl) (they) call Sveta.

????????????, ????????????. ????????????, ??????????.

Hi Natasha. Hi Sveta.

?????????????? ?????????????????????????? ?? ???????? ????????????.

Pleasant (to) meet with both (of) you.

And in French:

French:

PAUL : Bonjour. Que puis-je faire pour vous ?
Good day. What can I do for you

BEATRICE : Je m???appelle B??atrice.
I call myself Beatrice

PAUL : Comment allez-vous ? Enchant?? de faire votre connaissance.
How go you? Delighted to make your acquaintance.

BEATRICE : Je suis ??galement enchant??e de vous conna??tre.
I am equally delighted to you know.

PAUL : Quel est le nom de votre amie ?
What is the name of your friend?

BEATRICE : Mon amie s???appelle Isabelle.
My friend calls herself Isabelle

PAUL : Bonjour B??atrice. Bonjour Isabelle. Ravi de vous rencontrer toutes les deux.
Good day Beatrice. Good day Isabelle. Delighted to you meet all the two.

Video: http://bit.ly/bsgYZG

Leave a Reply

