Learning Czech, three week report

I am just not finding a lot of time to spend on Czech with all of the other things going on in my life, and of course my interest in listening to the Russian interviews on Echo Moskvi. What I have been able to do is the following.

1) Go through much of the beginner and intermediate content provided to our library at LingQ. I save lots of LingQs, words and phrases, in fact I now have well over 4,000 of them. That does not mean I know them by any means. I do not have enought time to review them all, and in fact I am more motivated to attack new content, regularly reviewing the meaning of words that show up as yellow ords in the text, telling me that I have already looked them up before.

2) Using the bookmarklet, import about ten items from Radio Praha, which I have read at LingQ, creating LingQs. I try to listen to them often but have trouble understanding them. (Although I understand them when I read them with the help of the online dictionary).

3) Spend some time at the Vocabulary page searching my long list of saved words based on suffixes, prefixes, and other roots that are common to a number of words. It helps to sort out which words are related, and which ones just seem similar but are not related.

4) Start?? The Good Soldier Svejk. I have imported a few chapters, and I have the audio book for the first 4 chapters. I plan to spend a lot of time on these 4 chapters. I must say that a professionally narrated audio book, if done well, really does grab me, and I can listen to it over and over.

But I am off to Nelson for the BC Senior Games. My hockey team is going there and I was not going to go, but another guy got injured, so now I have to go. My wife is coming with me, and so are the golf clubs, so I don’t think I will have a lot of time to study this coming week. Our team plays 5 games in 4 days and it is a 9 hour drive each way. We leave Vancouver tomorrow and return on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

