Czech vocabulary, time to regroup.

I will soon have been at Czech for two months.

I have been saving LingQ like mad in Czech. I now have over 10,000 LingQs in my database. These are words that I have looked up and am trying to learn. I occasionally move some to known, so that my learned LingQs total is about 700. In fact I know more than that, I just haven’t changed their status.

On the other hand I am told by the system that I know almost 13,000 words in Czech which I don’t believe. This is just the total number of words that I did not save when reading at LingQ. (I have read a total of over 100,000 words at LIngQ, from our own library and from imported content.) I do know a lot of words, though, since I can make my way through newspaper articles even without the dictionary, missing lots of parts, of course.

As to case endings, I have no clue about which endings are which case. So I decided that I have had enough exposure to the language. I have enough words. I have a feel. I have been exposed to the endings, now I need to try to get a better handle on the case endings.

I went into the Vocabulary section and started to Tag words based on case. I just look for the saved phrases for each word, and if I see an example of a case, I Tag it with what I hope is the correct case. I have a grammar book open with the case tables for nouns and adjectives, and a list of which prepositions take which cases. I hope I am tagging them correctly. I Tag some LingQs with more than one tag, for case, gender and for plural.

Every so often I meet a word in the captured phrase that I do not know. I then just save it as a term. If I am in doubt as to the gender of a noun. I look it up in the dictionary again and add it as a term in LingQ. I often refer to the examples in the LingQ box just to help me get a sense of the word.

This is quite time consuming. This is intensive vocab work. I won’t be able to do all 10,000 saved LingQs. But this helps me get a handle. Soon I will have some good lists of different case endings. When I have some good lists I may ask one of our native speakers to record the lists for me, to help me get used to the endings.

One advantage of this kind of work is that it is quite satisfying. Even though I cannot possible go through all my words, I do feel that this kind of random review increases my understanding and confidence. I only hope I have the will power to stay with it. I always tempted to just read and listen. I know that this work will increase the efficiency of my listening and reading. You do have to put in some time with the details of the language, the nuts and bolts.

Leave a Reply

